Various Artists – Without Borders LP

Translation Recordings is proud to unveil its debut LP “Without Borders,” featuring music by Solar Empire, ASC, Mindmapper, DBR (UK), Marginal, Dub Phizix, Edward Oberon, Stranjah, Theory, Slider, and Expose. The first chapter of this journey across the spectrum of drum&bass begins with ASC’s “Black Sea” remix, where sweeping atmospherics weave in and out of an abstract steppa with syncopated half-time sequences; all too perfect a segue to Mindmapper’s “Orbital Orchestra,” where tribal percussives, tape-delayed midrange fx, and modulated synth pads dance in and out of a deep-space sub wall. DBR (UK) and Marginal continue the minimal vibe with the future-dub flavors of “Floating Tribe,” but all of this changes when Dub Phizix’s “Between Us” drops. This menacing neuro stomper picks up the pace for Edward Oberon’s “Void,” an edgy trip down the rabbit hole filled with spliced bass edits and techno stabs that flash in and out of shuffling drums and bouncing low ends. Push up your lighta for the heavyweight amens in Stranjah’s dirty “J-Train” and Theory’s timeless rave anthem “Jungle Soul,” which pay tribute to the oldskool sound; both tunes will have heads calling for the rewind! Finally, retreat from the galloping pace of the thundering drums with Slider & Expose’s “There is Hope,” which brings the vibe back to its deeper roots for a denouement to an LP that is both its namesake and Translation Recordings’ most ambitious effort yet!